| Email

Visit Egypt


Ancient and Modern

Egypt occupies the upper northeastern      corner of Africa and, with the exception of the Nile River Valley and its      Delta, is mainly a flat, vegetation-free desert.        The Nile flows north and empties into the Mediterranean Sea which      forms the country’s northern boundary.        Egypt is bordered on the south by Sudan, to the west by Libya and      to its east by the Red Sea, and beyond the Sinai Peninsula, by Israel.        The country encompasses about 626,000 square miles (1,002,000      square kilometers) and at its most distant reaches is 640 miles from north      to south and 775 miles from east to west.

The country’s official name is the      Arab Republic of Egypt (ARE).  The      president is also Commander in Chief of the army and head of the National      Defense Council.  The      president appoints the prime minister and the rest of the cabinet.        Egypt’s National Assembly has representatives from all districts      throughout the country with women and Copts represented by quota.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe economy, formerly almost totally      agrarian, now receives a lion’s share of its hard currency income from      tourism which is likely to continue and is therefore carefully      safeguarded.  Petroleum firms contribute income as well, and Egypt receives      aid from more developed countries as well as revenue from the Suez Canal.

Geography.        There are 2 deserts:  the      Eastern or Arabian Desert from the Nile to the Red Sea and the Western or      Libya Desert, separated from the Sahara by sandstone and limestone      highlands.  There are 6 inhabited oases watered for the most part through      underground strata with water flowing north from Equatorial Africa.        Some of this water may take as many as 500 years to reach its final      oasis destination.  The Sinai      Peninsula separates the continents of Africa and Asia and is bordered by      the Gulf of Aqaba on the east and the Gulf of Suez on the west.        Containing 6% of Egypt’s land area the Sinai is harsh desert in      the north and granite mountains in the south.        The Red Sea is over 1200 miles long and almost 1-1/2 miles deep.        It is part of the fault line juncture between the African and      Arabian Tectonic plates which culminates in the south in Africa’s Great      Rift Valley.

WordPress Image Lightbox Plugin
Share This